Cami Park

Easter Rabbit is here

In Art, Prose, Travel on November 17, 2009 at 3:09 pm

Viscerally exquisite. Publishing Genius has taken care to do justice to Christine Sajecki‘s amazing artwork for the cover, not to mention Joseph Young‘s words inside. Feels good, cool to the touch, nice raised lettering. This is a wonderful thing to own.

As I mentioned before, Adam Robinson has made a dare to read this book in one sitting– “whoever reads the 3,000 words in one sitting, can email me for a full refund. My thinking is that the stories satiate after reading three or four, overwhelm after seven or eight.” I’m taking him up on it now, 1:33 PM PST. Will post when finished.

I will post comments as I go, though not too directly about the texts, and I don’t want to spoilerize anyone.

“It was impossible to understand, the humid cloud of words.”

Wonder about extra credit for reading the same ones again and again.

Cartogram feels exactly like the best kind of travelling.

Oh, Light of No Understanding.

The Gossipers seems complete, perfect.

–Finished Easter Rabbit at 2:20 PM PST. Not sure what to say that does justice, that doesn’t seem trite, or flippant. Just that these writings do what art does, encompass the familiar, the emotion of everyday life fully and without artifice. A pan in the snow, a quarter on the back of a hand– I had no idea such things could make me feel so much.

Easter Rabbit also includes 2 more collections, Deep Falls and God Not Otherwise. I’m on to Deep Falls now.

Disclose/Agape together with Moses just blows me away.

–Finished Deep Falls. This is a cohesive place/relationship narrative paced in micros. Imagistic, harsh, lovely, all that. Really good.

God Not Otherwise

–Some certainties, with an interlude. Excellence.

and 5  lines about Baltimore as intense as the rest of the book combined.

Finis, 2:50 PM PST.



  1. Appreciate this, Cami.

Leave a comment