Cami Park

Dzanc all* Best of the Web in one place nominees

In List, Poetry, Prose on November 1, 2009 at 12:07 am

*most**

Annalemma Magazine
“I may not know how I want my hair cut, or how I want Matt Mitcham to get me off, but I sure as hell know what I don’t want to be, and generally that’s whatever you tell me I am.”

Sam Nam, If I Could Lend Him My Words
Meg Pokrass, The Big Dipper
Tim Jones-Yelvington, Seducing Matt Mitcham

Bartleby Snopes
“I’ll pass through small towns God has abandoned, where the stoplights work, but traffic is frozen.”

Richard Santos, Membrane
Richard Osgood, Slow Motion Riders
Howie Good, Ghosts of Breath

Everyday Genius
“Certain prayers are designed specifically for the drunk on the street.”

Cindy Loehr, Shrub Prayer
Laura Ellen Scott, The Temple Dog
Joseph Young, Galaxy

Flutter
“My bones hollow/for the sight of another woman.”

Laura L. Snyder, The Telling Signs
Paula Ray, Where Wild Poisonous Mushrooms Grow
Mary Belardi Erickson, Blossoms & Jam, Maybe Wine

mud luscious
“There is nothing more lonely than to have a person inside you.”

Mike Meginnis, Brother
Molly Gaudry, The Dead Cells of the Day
Sean Lovelace, Meaning of Life #35

No Posit
“our captain/is of pegged leg, parroted shoulder and strong will”

Jeff Crouch, Paper Clips
Joseph Goosey, A Free Over the Phone Consultation
Jason Bredle, Moby Dick

No Tell Motel
“Come home, round corner.”

Elizabeth Hildreth, Eating the Future
Jenn Koiter, Ghazal, with Accessories
Joanna Ruocco, When I Worked for Madonna

Pangur Ban Party
“Toes in my hands, my mean face stops.”

Adam Moorad, The Nurse And The Patient
J. A. Tyler, When We Take Off Our Heads
Sam Pink, Bernhard Goetz

Smokelong Quarterly
“I found his room I said his name, Doctor.”

Z.Z. Boone, Rats
Mary Hamilton, Me and Theodore Are Trapped in the Trunk of the Car with Rags in Our Mouths and Tape Around Our Wrists and Ankles, Please Let Us Out.
Sam Nam, I Use Commas Like Ninja Stars

Terrain.org
“Stones and people do what they must to find repose.”

Pamela Uschuk, A Short History of Falling
J. David Bell, Positioning
Ben Quick, Lee’s Ferry

Toasted Cheese
“My family was like a kelp bed in which things get trapped but never grow.”

Alan Averill, Things Difficult to Say
Kimberley Idol, Painting Naked
Frank O’Connor, Foolish Creatures

Valparaiso Poetry Review
“And why not, this world has been good to us”

Cornelius Eady, Aretha Franklin’s Inauguration Hat
Claudia Emerson, Ground Truth
Charles Wright, I’ve Been Sitting Here Thinking Back over My Life…

Writers’ Bloc
“Poetry makes me feel like a stunned sea bass.”

Sean Lovelace, Writing, about writing
Jimmy Chen, Check, please?
Thomas Sullivan, Pity Party

YB
“I’m 35 now, and what debt. What debt.”

Rob Woodard, Orange Crush
Sean Patrick Hill, Self-Portrait as George Gisze, Merchant
Molly Gaudry, Gratitude

**to be cont’d

  1. Hi!

    Thanks for this list. Those are actually Anti-‘s 2008 nominations. Our 2009 nominations can be found here:

    http://anti-poetry.com/feature31/

    Thanks,
    Steven D. Schroeder
    Editor, Anti-

Leave a Reply

