Cami Park

A sudden weighty presence

In Architecture, Confessional, Prose on July 6, 2010 at 10:27 am

There are days you just don’t feel like talking, and today is a day like that for me, but it’s also the day that everyone is posting about Dzanc’s Best of the Web 2010, so I will say that when I got mine, I thought, “this is heavy!” which I liked, and then I opened it up to read a story at random, and read Amelia Gray‘s Cube, about an obelisk discovered by picnicking families at a park. I was impressed and taken by the story’s grace, intelligence, and humor as the group struggled to cope with the monolith’s sudden, weighty presence in their world, and when I was finished I thought, “Okay, that was one random piece of literature out of what, 95?” and have been taking it to bed with me ever since.

  1. I can’t wait to get to the bookstore and thumb through this!
    xo

  2. It’s pretty nice, I think.

  3. I did this wrong, though. I guess I was supposed to talk about the “genesis” of my piece. But on days I don’t feel like talking, I especially don’t feel like talking about myself.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.