Cami Park

Archive for September 4th, 2009|Daily archive page

Such divisions of promise

In How to, Nutrition, Poetry on September 4, 2009 at 1:33 am

A Visual Guide to Apples at Epicurious.com

All Particular Wishes

Discussing the weather,
we were careful to be inexact
in the smallest particulars.

Carefully, too, we packed
in newspaper the fragile
mountains I had decided
to take with me– Kawa Karpo,
Cerro Toro, Kailash,
exquisite Fuji, Mount Meru–

Except that’s impossible. We
couldn’t have done that. Mountains
are so big, and there is not enough
newspaper in the world. Really,
what I want to say is, such divisions of
promise are preposterous, you might as
well peel the bark off the trees or
tear the bricks from the house, you will
still be hungry, you will not be full.

Which I know because I know someone who did that once.

by Cami Park

How to Make a Newspaper Juggling Club

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.